Search

People Net Logs ELD – Is its Price justified? (Review 2024)

PeopleNet ELD

$1,200 (per vehicle) + $43 monthly fee
7.9

Customer Support

8.3/10

Ease of Use

7.3/10

Installation

7.4/10

Suitable for fleets

8.6/10

Features & Technology

7.7/10

Pros

  • Reliable, full-featured AOBRDs on the market
  • Good Customer Service
  • Engine Monitoring
  • Safety Measures
  • Cameras and Navigation

Cons

  • High Cost
  • Some users report input problems

 

People Net Logs is a well-known ELD among truckers; in fact, it is one of the oldest-rated ELDs.

But is its high price justified?

In this PeopleNet ELD review, we are going to cover all you need to know about People Net electronic logs:

If you are looking for specific information, you can navigate directly to the section you are interested in. This article aims to provide valuable insights for a broad audience, from seasoned fleet management professionals to those new to the concept of Electronic Logging Devices and fleet management.

Also, before you decide, you might be interested in learning more about two other of our top picks for ELD devices such as Motive (formerly Keep Truckin) or EROAD Ehubo.

Drop us a line if we missed anything or if you want to share your experience with PeopleNet. Our goal is to help you make informed decisions. So, here is an honest review of what to expect before considering PeopleNet ELD for your fleet:

Overview

Commercial drivers are used to calculate the number of hours traveled, and miles traveled on paper. But now, ELD devices such as PeopleNet are providing new technology to help streamline the process.

People Net is owned by Trimble, which is a big SaaS (software as a service) technology company and a global leader in applying positioning technologies. They provide SaaS services to global industries, including Governments and Transportation. This fact gives us confidence in their product. PeopleNet ELD also pairs nicely with the services of PeopleNet Fleet Manager. The two People Net products combine together to form one cohesive system.

Pros of PeopleNet
  • Notable features such as Monitoring and Messaging, 4G LTE Cellular Communication, and the PeopleNet Platform
  • Great support
  • Advanced operating system
  • Familiarity among drivers
  • A large number of advanced features
  • Customizable features to meet fleet needs
  • Reliable Logging Device
  • Backed by PeopleNet ELD support and 15 years of experience
  • FMCSA-compliant
  • Large touchscreen display
  • Built-in GPS receiver
  • Driver log Pre-trip inspection checklist
  • Post-trip inspection checklist
  • Driver fatigue warning system
  • Fuel efficiency monitoring system
  • Fleet management dashboard
Cons of PeopleNet
  • Highest installation cost in the industry
  • The subsequent monthly service fee is also high
  • Time-consuming installation process

Features

To use the features of the People Net ELD device, the driver must log in to the platform. Once logged in, the driver can navigate through an impressive list of features, which you can see below.

  • Maintenance Management
  • Mileage Tracking
  • Motor Pool
  • Routing
  • Tire Management
  • VIN Lookup
  • Work Order Management
  • Dispatch Management
  • Employee Management
  • Fuel Management
  • GPS Tracking
  • Incident Reporting
  • Vehicle management
  • Driver management
  • Vehicle maintenance
  • Inventory management
  • Vehicle Financing
  • Claim management
  • Trip management
  • Fuel management
  • Real-time diagnostics
  • Mileage tracking
  • Accident tracking
  • Dispatch management
  • Navigation and routing

Despite its many advanced features, the PeopleNet ELD driver logs device still functions at a high processing level. This means there are no significant lags or system shortages.

Recent updates to PeopleNet ELD have further improved its user interface, making it more intuitive, especially for new users.

Furthermore, aside from the wide variety of top-notch features, this device is also easy to use and navigate for drivers.

The user interface is simple and allows any driver to monitor and control the device accurately. For example, this lets drivers know when they reach their hourly limits.

Drivers can also control their routes using in-cab navigation, which can help avoid excessive fuel and equipment expenses by providing the best available way.

Main Features of PeopleNet ELD

People Net ELD devices are renowned in the commercial trucking industry. Their comprehensive features demonstrate the efficiency of these electronic logging devices. PeopleNet ELD, backed by Trimble, stands out for its reliability, functionality, and durability.

Here, we delve into its key features, which cater to both drivers and fleet management companies.

Checklist eldHour of Service Compliance

This tracking device makes it easier for organizations and drivers to comply with the HOS rules. It is listed as an FMCSA-compliant device.

Automated hours of service put drivers at ease and save them from time wasted off the road for hours calculation and other paperwork. Instead, this time is served on work, and the fleet’s overall efficiency is increased.

If you would like help to see which ELD is best for your needs, fill out one of our free consultation forms for a free consultation. 

FMCSA approved eldsELD Compliance & User Interface

People Net ELD provides extra safety and effectiveness by complying with ELD regulations set by FMCSA. For example, the driver’s log is easy to navigate and includes a driver log summary, violations report, best routes, fuel consumption, and even weekly availability of driver’s payroll.

Its user interface is relatively easy to use, and as a result, it sets the next-generation fleet performance management benchmark in decision-making and is technology-driven.

ELD device feature

Monitoring and a Messaging Function

More advanced features are available for this device, including integrated multi-directional cameras and advanced navigation.

This device offers monitoring and a messaging function to help keep track of the fleet, predict arrival times, communicate, and more.

Another nice advanced feature of PeopleNet ELD software is that it monitors and tracks driver performance. This can be useful to maximize the vehicle’s fuel economy and thus reduce operating costs by ensuring efficient operation.

ELD device connectivity4G LTE Cellular Communication

One of the most comprehensive devices offers the best 4G LTE cellular communication. And these features allow enhanced performance, no matter where the truck is in the country.

Thus, drivers and fleet managers have immediate access to the information without delay, further enhanced by the integrated messaging platform. And consequently, drivers can communicate directly with the back office.

ELD device maintainanceEngine Data Efficiency

The main benefit of an automated logging device is that it connects with the vehicle’s engine to update the driver’s activity and routes. People Net ELD device provides the best record for speeding alerts, location, tire pressure, overall engine efficiency, and faults. In addition, a complete engine performance report is readily available to drivers and fleet managers.

This is highly beneficial and allows the drivers to avoid engine faults, indirectly saving time.

Recently, there have been several improvements in how the PeopleNet ELD connects to the vehicle’s engine and tracks various metrics, providing an improved connection to the vehicle’s engine, reducing the risk of connectivity issues.

ELD device featureComparative KPI Reporting

As a result of its incredible capacity to deliver comparative KPI reporting, this software is widely praised by fleet managers. In addition, reports could be accessed readily in real-time, making it easy to conduct historical trend analysis.

The reports could be sent straight to your email.

It also has comprehensive engine-related performance metrics such as fuel efficiency, RPM, velocity, and idle time.

Therefore, it becomes effortless to track the performance of all your vehicles.

It tracks a wider range of metrics, including engine RPM, fuel consumption, and emissions, aiding drivers and fleet managers in enhancing efficiency and compliance.

The new ELD provides more detailed reports on driver behavior, fleet efficiency, and compliance, enabling better informed decision-making. These improvements make the new PeopleNet ELD a more powerful tool for drivers and fleet managers, improving safety, efficiency, and compliance.

TruckingCustomer Support

With customer service from PeopleNet elog, you get the support of a company that was one of the first to introduce an eld device, AND a tech company backs it!

You can rest assured that your fleet will have access to the most recent technologies and platforms, and you will get real-life customer support personnel to help if you need assistance.

If you have any issues, the People Net log’s support team is ready to answer your questions.

If that isn’t enough, PeopleNet ELD training videos are also available.

The updates and enhancements to PeopleNet ELD in this year include advanced features like 4G LTE network, Line 4 Log Auditing, Weigh Station Bypass, and OEM Embedded Display Integration. These features, combined with the device’s ease of use and reliability, make it a top choice in the industry.

The Reporting Options on this Device

PeopleNet ELD provides comprehensive reporting capabilities to ensure efficient fleet management:

  • DVIR and HOS Reporting: Ensures compliance with FMCSA regulations and provides vital data for fleet operations.
  • Summary of ½ to 1-year driver log records
  • Allows for the ability to review driver performance
  • It can be used for any audits
  • Daily log reports
    • Delivers real-time driver hours
    • Allows tracking for miles traveled, off-duty, total on-duty, available driving, and more.
  • Violations report
    • Summarizes any violations by drivers
    • Reporting within the 6-12 months
  • Driver payroll
    • Report used to pay drivers
    • Available weekly
  • Driver log
    • Allows the driver to view their profile
    • Review hours of service and any violations
    • Ability to print

 

Electronic logging devices



What Makes People Net ELD One of the Best

peoplenet eld logs

While the device may be pricey compared to some of the competition, you are getting one of the most reliable, technologically advanced-featured ELDs on the market.

And you are backed by excellent PeopleNet eld support, which includes a phone number to speak to a real person!

PeopleNet offers a familiar user interface and a platform that is easy to use and navigate for all drivers. They also offered top standard features, including;

  • Engine Monitoring
  • Fuel Consumption Monitoring
  • Safety Measures
  • Cameras and Navigation

PeopleNet elog is one of the best options for fleet managers to track and manage the fleet effectively.

Focusing on user experience, PeopleNet ELD features an interface designed for ease of use, ensuring that both drivers and fleet managers can efficiently manage their tasks without technical complexities.

Over time, this device could save money by keeping drivers on the correct route and receiving real-time diagnostics and information on driver performance and behavior.

This allows fleet managers to correct any problems or offer solutions before it significantly impacts business.

Real-time tracking also allows organizations to accurately predict pick-up, and drop-off times, improving customer service.

Comparison With the Competition

FMCSA Approved ELD

In a comprehensive feature-by-feature comparison, PeopleNet ELD stands out for its advanced telematics, reliable 4G LTE connectivity, and user-friendly interface. It excels over competitors in areas like real-time diagnostics and fuel efficiency tracking.

When matched to the competitors, the People Net device offers the most connectivity, reliability, durability, and features. Another benefit of this device is its reporting to drivers and fleet offices.

Thus, drivers and managers have a wealth of information directly at their fingertips at any moment. By using driver logs, they can see how many hours each driver has logged and see if they are nearing their limit or if they are in violation of any HOS rules.

As a result, this helps maintain the operation of each fleet, ensuring that they comply with the ELD mandate.

The reporting features on the People Net driver logs device allow you to access reports that serve your business needs.

PeopleNet ELD Cost

The biggest drawback for the PeopleNet eld cost is the hefty price. This device, however, comes with one of the highest installation and hardware costs.

peoplenet logs cost

The initial price of installation is approximately $1,200 per vehicle, and the full-service plan by PeopleNet includes a $43 monthly price tag.

And also, with the hefty price tag comes a lengthy PeopleNet eld installation process. This might be enough to scare off some potential fleets.

In some cases, the initial setup costs are worth it and can be justified. But many small businesses can find it hard to afford the high initial price and might choose another ELD.

So, if you have a large fleet, the functionality is worth the price. The device is designed to be completely customizable to fit your needs.

Although PeopleNet logs truly offer one of the best products on the market for ELDs, each fleet should consider the cost and whether it makes sense to spend the money.

Is the Hefty Price Justified?

With that upfront cost of $1,200 plus a $43 monthly fee, the PeopleNet ELD is one of the more expensive ELDs out there. However, with this device, you can configure the system to meet the needs of your fleet, saving you time, money, and resources.

The latest update in 2023 also introduced advanced telematics features, enhancing the fuel efficiency tracking and real-time diagnostic capabilities, making it even more valuable for fleet management.

When purchasing an ELD device, considering everything, including the price, is essential. But if you have a large fleet, the high upfront cost may be worth it for the advanced features and customization. Over time, it may save you money, time, and resources because it ensures accurate HOS reporting.

With the ongoing updates, the device is always aligned with the latest industry standards, potentially reducing future upgrade costs.

While it certainly makes sense to shop around, the PeopleNet elog is widely used and easy to navigate. As a result, these features, along with the ongoing updates and enhancements, justify the high price tag that comes with the device.

Electronic logging devices help


People Net Outage and Reboot Issue Fixed

Trimble’s telematics company encountered a software-related clock synching reboot issue, but that is now long passed. For a minute, between 2018 and 2020, there were more outages than usual, along with slow login times, plus other system mechanical failures. As a result, many users of PeopleNet ELD were plagued by software disruptions and outages. Don’t worry; however, a repair patch quickly resolved the issue.

Quick Recap of PeopleNet ELD eDriver Logs

People Net continues improving its offerings by introducing eDriver Logs to PeopleNet eld android platform. And consequently allows data to be stored in the cloud.

All drivers and fleet managers access the information at any time. The Android platform also has the flexibility to connect to many phones and PeopleNet ELD tablets.

And thus, it delivers a seamless experience for each driver. In addition, this platform enables full mobility, ease of use, and unmatched connectivity. And, consequently, enhanced network connectivity. Cloud storage makes it one of the best available devices, especially for fleet managers and drivers.

The PeopleNet eld portal app is available on iOS and Android devices. It gives drivers and fleet managers more control so they can stay on top of everything.

User Reviews

Positive Reviews:

user reviewsAccording to industry experts and seasoned fleet managers who have used PeopleNet ELD, the system offers unparalleled reliability and advanced features.

The PeopleNet eld mobile app offers users the option to incorporate a robust display that provides compliance with the requirements of the ELD device as well as many other applications, including navigation and in-cab scanning.

Through the Managed Mobility service, fleets companies could manage the business, provide remote support to truck drivers throughout support cases, and troubleshoot other mobile apps.

Many users who gave positive feedback to the company noted how simple it was to use this device.

One user, in particular, likes the big icons on the main menu as this enables him to view driving time and other details as he presses Duty Status.

Many users pointed out that because the 3G network is being phased out, it is excellent to know that PeopleNet ELD is compatible with 4G LTE. In addition, they do not have to worry about replacing their ELD device because it is already up to date.

Users also commend the People Net eld app function called Hot Keys, which allows them to set some shortcuts and get faster to a specific PeopleNet eld screen, such as ETA, shipper load confirmation, shipper approval, and much more.

In recent reviews from 2023, users have praised the new advanced telematics features which provide them with more accurate fuel efficiency tracking and real-time diagnostics.

Negative Reviews:

A few negative PeopleNet eld reviews pointed out that it is not compatible with 5G yet. But the 5G network is new and will be available in the next few years.

Some of them pointed out significant drawbacks in the GPS functionality. For example, the maps can be over-dated in some areas. However, this could be fixed by downloading an update, if available.

Some other users indicate that another concern from a fleet owner has been that the system often loses signal. And that’s because the device is a bit outdated compared to other ELD devices.

There have been some concerns about the device’s interface not being as intuitive as some of the newer ELD models in the market. However, PeopleNet has announced they are looking into updating their interface to improve user experience.

Overall, People Net ELD has a good reputation and many positive user feedbacks on many online review sites.

Summary of  Specs and Features

Screen: 7-inches colored (TFT LCD technology)

Resolution: 1024X600 (Wide super VGA)

User Interface: J1939 (CAN 2), 250 and 500 Kilobit per second

Brightness: Minimum 500 nits

Backlight: LED technology

Contrast Ratio: 500:1 (minimum)

Time of Response: 20ms

Width: 9″

Length: 6.2″

Working Temperature: From -10°C to +60°C with battery and -20°C to 70°C on external power.

Antennas: Cellular modem, Wi-Fi, GPS, and Bluetooth

Productivity: 90% at maximum load

Wrapping Up: PeopleNet ELD for Enhanced Fleet Management

The high price of PeopleNet ELD might be a problem for some people, but if you have read this review, you know that the price is justified through the modern, simple, and user-friendly features of this ELD.

The ELD is developed by a well-known business that provides fantastic support.

The enriched cloud storage and network access make it unique among the best modern ELD devices. And thus an excellent option for fleets due to its features.

Taking into account the improvements and enhancements in recent years, as well as the positive user feedback received PeopleNet ELD is certainly worth considering for your fleet management needs. It’s not just about compliance; it’s about utilizing technology to streamline operations, reduce costs, and improve efficiency.

This People Net ELD review has been compiled through meticulous research and consultations with industry experts. I hope you find it valuable.

Finding the best ELD system may be time-consuming and stressful for many.

Kindly fill out our consultation form; we will gladly help you in this situation.

fleet management systems




PeopleNet FAQs:

How do Annotate Logs on ELD PeopleNet?

To annotate logs on ELD PeopleNet, follow these steps:

  1. Navigate to the PeopleNet ELD platform
  2. Select the driver whose logs you want to annotate
  3. Locate the logs you want to annotate
  4. Click on the edit icon next to the log entry you wish to annotate
  5. Enter your annotation in the comments section
  6. Save the annotation

How do I Edit a Driver’s Logs in People Net?

ELD device feature

To edit a driver’s logs in PeopleNet, follow these steps:

  1. Navigate to the PeopleNet ELD platform
  2. Select the driver whose logs you want to edit
  3. Locate the logs you want to edit
  4. Click on the edit icon next to the log entry you want to edit
  5. Make the necessary changes to the log
  6. Save the changes

How to Download Logs from PeopleNet?

Download

To download logs from PeopleNet, follow these steps:

  1. Navigate to the PeopleNet ELD platform
  2. Select the driver whose logs you want to download
  3. Locate the logs you want to download
  4. Click on the download icon next

Can PeopleNet ELD Track Vehicle Location in Real-Time?

ELD device Navigation feature

Yes, People Net ELD can track vehicle location in real-time.

  1. Log into the PeopleNet ELD platform
  2. Navigate to the ‘Vehicle Tracking’ section
  3. Select the vehicle to view its current location on the map.

How to Set Up Alerts for HOS Violations in PeopleNet ELD?

Driver alerts

  1. Access the People Net ELD platform
  2. Go to the ‘Alerts’ or ‘Notifications’ section
  3. Set up parameters for Hours of Service (HOS) violation alerts
  4. Specify how you want to receive these alerts (email, SMS, in-app notification).

How to Update PeopleNet ELD Software?

Updating software

  1. Log in to the PeopleNet ELD platform
  2. Navigate to the ‘Settings’ or ‘System Updates’ section
  3. Check for any available software updates
  4. Follow the on-screen instructions to download and install updates.

How to Resolve Connectivity Issues with PeopleNet ELD?

Connectivity of ELD devices

  1. Ensure the device is properly installed and powered on
  2. Check the network settings on the PeopleNet device
  3. Restart the device to reset its network connection
  4. If the issue persists, contact PeopleNet support for further assistance.

How to Access Driver Performance Reports in PeopleNet ELD?

  1. Access the PeopleNet ELD platform
  2. Go to the ‘Reports’ section
  3. Choose the ‘Driver Performance’ report
  4. Select the driver and the time period for the report.

How does Trimble’s ELD ensure ELD compliance?

Trimble’s ELD solutions are designed to meet the compliance standards set by the FMCSA and other regulatory bodies. They provide automated recording of driving time, HOS tracking, and support for inspections to ensure that fleets stay compliant with regulations.

What features are included in Trimble’s ELD solutions?

Features typically include GPS fleet tracking, automated IFTA reporting, driver vehicle inspection reports (DVIR), and in-cab hardware and software solutions that support compliance and fleet management.

Can Trimble ELD solutions integrate with other fleet management systems?

Yes, it offers a range of integrations with over 150 different software solutions, allowing for seamless data exchange and enhanced fleet management capabilities.

 Please share your review below with your fellow truckers, so we can help each other to find the best solution; thanks! 

 

Share what you learned!

About the author

Robert Rigman

Robert Rigman

Former independent OTR trucker that left the road to dedicate his time to research new technology for the transport industry. When the ELD Mandate was approved many questions and daily challenges came up and there was no answer to them. ELDdevices.net was born from the combination of my passion for trucking and my affinity for research and writing.

You might be interested...

19 Responses

  1. When it comes to PeopleNet, run don’t walk away. Make sure you get everything in writing and never take what any of the customer service people tell you. Fullfilled my 3 yr contract with PeopleNet because the service was horrible decided to go to Samsara. But needed one extra month to bridge the change over. Was told no problem I could go month to month for a monthly price. And when I was ready to stop just give them a 30 day notice. That cost me $2400. I was lied too, the guy that told me, it was his word against mine. They didn’t record that conversation and told me to read the fine print on my old contract. If you go to month to month you agree to do it for 1 year. They held me to it and billed my credit card for the full amount. Be careful working with a company that doesn’t appreciate your business and has horrible service.

    1. Hi Sherry,
      Thank you for sharing your experience with PeopleNet. We’re genuinely sorry to hear about the challenges you faced, especially regarding contracts and customer service. Your story sheds light on the importance of thoroughly understanding contract terms and being cautious with agreements, both written and verbal. By speaking out, you’re helping many others make informed decisions and potentially avoid similar situations. We appreciate your honesty and hope that moving forward, you have a smoother experience with other service providers.

    2. Customer Support

      0

      Ease of Use

      0

      Installation

      0

      Suitable for fleets

      0

      Features & Technology

      10

      Sherry, don’t forget that your credit card can protect you! Call your credit card and dispute the charge. Explain your situation and I bet the card company can help! It won’t hurt to try!

  2. They need to stop making ELD tablets. Such a pain in the ass, we never use it at jb hunt. Causes more headache than it does help. No ease of use whatsoever, it never works. It’s always slow. I don’t know what made them think they’re cable of making ELD devices.

  3. Customer Support

    0

    Ease of Use

    10

    Installation

    0

    Suitable for fleets

    0

    Features & Technology

    0

    Your system….it be complicated…zold School Driver…would toss it on a roadside park trade csn…….paper logs I understsnd…your technology….I’d a pain in my ASS.ettd

  4. Customer Support

    0

    Ease of Use

    10

    Installation

    10

    Suitable for fleets

    0

    Features & Technology

    9.5

    Anyone with people net systems that is have trouble send me an email I can help!!

  5. Customer Support

    10

    Ease of Use

    0.5

    Installation

    0

    Suitable for fleets

    0.5

    Features & Technology

    1

    The most difficult and time consuming process to change duty status. It does not allow me to go to the duty status I need without going through sleeper berth or on duty status first. I have to tap the screen 5 times to change status. Its the biggest piece of excrement that I have ever tried to use.

  6. Customer Support

    6

    Ease of Use

    8.5

    Installation

    8.5

    Suitable for fleets

    2

    Features & Technology

    1

    PPLNET is completely crap because is not compliant with latests FMCSA HOS and create safety threat by miscalculating HOS.
    1, it is own PPLNET hybrid: Is counting break under 7 hours in sleeper into 14 hrs.
    2, if use split break after 3rd break under 10 hrs gives to driver full 8/11/14 but it is violation. In office they have diferent log and they will count it as violation
    3, after 4th break in split break cycle is throwing hours randomly

    FMCSA should take it out of aproved ELD list

  7. The worst for Owner Operators. Absolutely terrible support. Absolutely terrible billing. Absolutely the worst ELD in the industry

  8. Do any of y’all have issues when logging in or out, changing from on-duty to off-duty and the time changes from 1 to 5 minutes, then goes back to 3 minutes. I have video of the system doing this and it cost me my safety bonus from my place of work. Will you compensate for the loss? Because what was on my peoplenet in the truck was way different then what the computer showed at the dispatch office. Any one else had this problem?

  9. PeopleNet said that they have updated the units with the new HOS and it seems they have with the 30 minute as long as the 30 is a solid 30, no split between on/off duty. Otherwise split sleeper stopping the clock? Not so much. Since the updates, the “New HOS” don’t log, GPS isn’t correct, log-in and out isn’t working. Please check different options!!!

  10. Worst ELD device out there. Long wait times on the phone, horrible account manager, bad customer support and they close almost all of their tickets without resolution. They’ll give your drivers bad advice encouraging them to run their log book illegal as they’re customer support are not educated on the regs. I wouldn’t recommend PeoplenNet to ANYONE. Yes, it’s that bad. They have nothing but data diagnostic events which WILL trip up a driver’s log book.

  11. Customer Support

    0

    Ease of Use

    0

    Installation

    0

    Suitable for fleets

    1.5

    Features & Technology

    0

    High cost unit and extremely unreliable. Issues almost everyday. Login and logout takes forever, frequent outages while driving down the road. Takes about 2 minutes to clear a trailer # amd enter a new trailer. Best to go with Keeptruckin ELDs. They blow these guys out of the water for a fraction of the cost

  12. The worst experience has been with the transition of the older units on the new platform with ELD’s with PeopleNet. Salespeople that set us up are no longer with the company due to Customer Service issues. Before you consider the higher cost of partnering up with PeopleNet i would call as many smaller truckers on their experiences. Morgan Van Lines is a 80 truck fleet that started out with PN in 2013 with Microsoft Platform and PN didn’t have a conversion for the final hour of 2019 right before the mandate.

  13. I just purchased 8 2018 Freight Liners that have the Peoplenet system.

    It is the ELD as well as cameras etc.

    We need customer support to help us use the system.
    My name is Joe Anzaldi and my company is in Lincoln RI.
    800-255-4256
    janzaldi@originalpizza.com
    Please contact me.
    Thank you, Joe

  14. Before the December 2019 update the Peoplenet units I used in our company trucks work fine most of the time. There were issues with it not logging out. But since the update the units are off line more than they are on. I have lost many hours trying to get logged on or repair an error. More than six times has it logged me on while I was off duty at home. The system even had me driving while on home break. A driver can edit the on duty, not drive time, but there’s no way to edit the on duty drive time. I’d say half the time when I come in to work I’ll log in and Peoplenet will show that I’m out of hour, even after two days at home. I could go on for a long time about how frustrating this system is but I think I’ve made my point. I have no control about what system the company I work for uses, but as a driver I will NEVER recommend Peoplenet. Also, the tables are fragile, the interface is hard to operate. The touch screen is overly complicated and the controls are too small. If you are a major trucking company with a high turn over of drivers, you’ll end up replacing the tables often. I’ve been driving trucks for over 25 years and I’m computer savvy and shouldn’t have too many issues with technology but I do with this system. What I see is a system that wasn’t designed for the audience it was intended for.

  15. Customer Support

    1

    Ease of Use

    0.5

    Installation

    0.5

    Suitable for fleets

    1

    Features & Technology

    0.5

    Peoplenet is one of the worst eld you can get they have no idea what they are doing in all parts of eld they shod not be In any truck

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sign up for our Newsletter

Share what you learned!

About the author

Robert Rigman

Robert Rigman

Former independent OTR trucker that left the road to dedicate his time to research new technology for the transport industry. When the ELD Mandate was approved many questions and daily challenges came up and there was no answer to them. ELDdevices.net was born from the combination of my passion for trucking and my affinity for research and writing.

19 Responses

  1. When it comes to PeopleNet, run don’t walk away. Make sure you get everything in writing and never take what any of the customer service people tell you. Fullfilled my 3 yr contract with PeopleNet because the service was horrible decided to go to Samsara. But needed one extra month to bridge the change over. Was told no problem I could go month to month for a monthly price. And when I was ready to stop just give them a 30 day notice. That cost me $2400. I was lied too, the guy that told me, it was his word against mine. They didn’t record that conversation and told me to read the fine print on my old contract. If you go to month to month you agree to do it for 1 year. They held me to it and billed my credit card for the full amount. Be careful working with a company that doesn’t appreciate your business and has horrible service.

    1. Hi Sherry,
      Thank you for sharing your experience with PeopleNet. We’re genuinely sorry to hear about the challenges you faced, especially regarding contracts and customer service. Your story sheds light on the importance of thoroughly understanding contract terms and being cautious with agreements, both written and verbal. By speaking out, you’re helping many others make informed decisions and potentially avoid similar situations. We appreciate your honesty and hope that moving forward, you have a smoother experience with other service providers.

    2. Customer Support

      0

      Ease of Use

      0

      Installation

      0

      Suitable for fleets

      0

      Features & Technology

      10

      Sherry, don’t forget that your credit card can protect you! Call your credit card and dispute the charge. Explain your situation and I bet the card company can help! It won’t hurt to try!

  2. They need to stop making ELD tablets. Such a pain in the ass, we never use it at jb hunt. Causes more headache than it does help. No ease of use whatsoever, it never works. It’s always slow. I don’t know what made them think they’re cable of making ELD devices.

  3. Customer Support

    0

    Ease of Use

    10

    Installation

    0

    Suitable for fleets

    0

    Features & Technology

    0

    Your system….it be complicated…zold School Driver…would toss it on a roadside park trade csn…….paper logs I understsnd…your technology….I’d a pain in my ASS.ettd

  4. Customer Support

    0

    Ease of Use

    10

    Installation

    10

    Suitable for fleets

    0

    Features & Technology

    9.5

    Anyone with people net systems that is have trouble send me an email I can help!!

  5. Customer Support

    10

    Ease of Use

    0.5

    Installation

    0

    Suitable for fleets

    0.5

    Features & Technology

    1

    The most difficult and time consuming process to change duty status. It does not allow me to go to the duty status I need without going through sleeper berth or on duty status first. I have to tap the screen 5 times to change status. Its the biggest piece of excrement that I have ever tried to use.

  6. Customer Support

    6

    Ease of Use

    8.5

    Installation

    8.5

    Suitable for fleets

    2

    Features & Technology

    1

    PPLNET is completely crap because is not compliant with latests FMCSA HOS and create safety threat by miscalculating HOS.
    1, it is own PPLNET hybrid: Is counting break under 7 hours in sleeper into 14 hrs.
    2, if use split break after 3rd break under 10 hrs gives to driver full 8/11/14 but it is violation. In office they have diferent log and they will count it as violation
    3, after 4th break in split break cycle is throwing hours randomly

    FMCSA should take it out of aproved ELD list

  7. The worst for Owner Operators. Absolutely terrible support. Absolutely terrible billing. Absolutely the worst ELD in the industry

  8. Do any of y’all have issues when logging in or out, changing from on-duty to off-duty and the time changes from 1 to 5 minutes, then goes back to 3 minutes. I have video of the system doing this and it cost me my safety bonus from my place of work. Will you compensate for the loss? Because what was on my peoplenet in the truck was way different then what the computer showed at the dispatch office. Any one else had this problem?

  9. PeopleNet said that they have updated the units with the new HOS and it seems they have with the 30 minute as long as the 30 is a solid 30, no split between on/off duty. Otherwise split sleeper stopping the clock? Not so much. Since the updates, the “New HOS” don’t log, GPS isn’t correct, log-in and out isn’t working. Please check different options!!!

  10. Worst ELD device out there. Long wait times on the phone, horrible account manager, bad customer support and they close almost all of their tickets without resolution. They’ll give your drivers bad advice encouraging them to run their log book illegal as they’re customer support are not educated on the regs. I wouldn’t recommend PeoplenNet to ANYONE. Yes, it’s that bad. They have nothing but data diagnostic events which WILL trip up a driver’s log book.

  11. Customer Support

    0

    Ease of Use

    0

    Installation

    0

    Suitable for fleets

    1.5

    Features & Technology

    0

    High cost unit and extremely unreliable. Issues almost everyday. Login and logout takes forever, frequent outages while driving down the road. Takes about 2 minutes to clear a trailer # amd enter a new trailer. Best to go with Keeptruckin ELDs. They blow these guys out of the water for a fraction of the cost

  12. The worst experience has been with the transition of the older units on the new platform with ELD’s with PeopleNet. Salespeople that set us up are no longer with the company due to Customer Service issues. Before you consider the higher cost of partnering up with PeopleNet i would call as many smaller truckers on their experiences. Morgan Van Lines is a 80 truck fleet that started out with PN in 2013 with Microsoft Platform and PN didn’t have a conversion for the final hour of 2019 right before the mandate.

  13. I just purchased 8 2018 Freight Liners that have the Peoplenet system.

    It is the ELD as well as cameras etc.

    We need customer support to help us use the system.
    My name is Joe Anzaldi and my company is in Lincoln RI.
    800-255-4256
    janzaldi@originalpizza.com
    Please contact me.
    Thank you, Joe

  14. Before the December 2019 update the Peoplenet units I used in our company trucks work fine most of the time. There were issues with it not logging out. But since the update the units are off line more than they are on. I have lost many hours trying to get logged on or repair an error. More than six times has it logged me on while I was off duty at home. The system even had me driving while on home break. A driver can edit the on duty, not drive time, but there’s no way to edit the on duty drive time. I’d say half the time when I come in to work I’ll log in and Peoplenet will show that I’m out of hour, even after two days at home. I could go on for a long time about how frustrating this system is but I think I’ve made my point. I have no control about what system the company I work for uses, but as a driver I will NEVER recommend Peoplenet. Also, the tables are fragile, the interface is hard to operate. The touch screen is overly complicated and the controls are too small. If you are a major trucking company with a high turn over of drivers, you’ll end up replacing the tables often. I’ve been driving trucks for over 25 years and I’m computer savvy and shouldn’t have too many issues with technology but I do with this system. What I see is a system that wasn’t designed for the audience it was intended for.

  15. Customer Support

    1

    Ease of Use

    0.5

    Installation

    0.5

    Suitable for fleets

    1

    Features & Technology

    0.5

    Peoplenet is one of the worst eld you can get they have no idea what they are doing in all parts of eld they shod not be In any truck

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You might be interested...