Teletrac Navman

from $25 monthly fee
6.6

Customer Support

4.9/10

Ease of Use

7.5/10

Installation

6.3/10

Suitable for fleets

7.9/10

Features & Technology

6.2/10

Pros

  • No upfront cost
  • In-cab training guides for drivers
  • Easy to use
  • Report vehicle issues and maintenance requests in real time

Cons

  • Tech Support Hard To Reach
  • GPS Tracking problems
  • Only suitable for fleets

 

teletrac navman Are you looking for a complete eld system? If so, you have found it: Teletrac Navman is not only an eld device but also a fleet management software system.

It allows company owners, managers, and directors to monitor, track, and review their drivers.

In this review, we are going to show you not only its advantages but also some negative user reviews as well as improvement points to be considered.

The Teletrac ELD is for those that have an interest in further understanding how their drivers travel.

Some History

Teletrac eld is the result of the merger between the Teletrac and Navman Wireless companies.

And this means that Teletrac Navman brings double the experience and expertise to any other fleet management system, as you will discover in this Teletrac Navman eld reviews.

This eld solution is most useful for trucking companies. However, it can successfully manage private fleets, delivery businesses, as well as construction, mining, and civil engineering companies.

It gives fleet managers the indispensable resource of checking in on their drivers.  And also the Teletrac Navman driver portal enables the truck driver to carry out their job effectively

Thus, the back office always knows what exactly is going on when they send their fleet out on business.

Basic System Functionality

More specifically, the system can collect and store fuel efficiency data, do score-carding,  and even carry

Teletrac Appout rudimentary business intelligence.

The list of functions goes on with engine diagnostics, and GPS asset location data, all carried out through a single and easy to use web-based platform.

Teletrac Navman wireless tracker software has received an A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau and trust pilot due to the product’s supreme quality.

As with all technology, there are a few drawbacks to Teletrac Navman, but overall, it is a useful asset that anyone in the trucking, transportation, or construction industry should purchase for their company.

And this is a centralized fleet management system. Most of the functions of Teletrac Navman are carried out through its rydesmart fleet director login interface, which comes in a variety of levels of ability and price.

Users can also use the Teletrac Navman app for android and iOS which comes is a user-friendly interface.

Teletrac Navman ELD Plans

The first and least expensive option is the DIRECTOR Essential. While it is the most basic Teletrac Navman pricing form, it is designed for owner-operator and small businesses, such as local and national transportation services providers.

The other upgrade options are DIRECTOR Professional and DIRECTOR Enterprise.

It is a bit pricier form of Teletrac Navman billing plan and far more suitable for big, internationally operating fleets. More info about the latter ELD plans is coming shortly.

eld electronic logs


Director Essential for The Builder

As mentioned above, this ELD plan is also especially helpful for those working in the construction industry.

In an attempt to tackle the spreading workforce shortage in the sector, more and more construction companies resolve to use GPS tracking and big data analytics.

As many as 85% of the builders in the USA either currently use GPS fleet tracking or plan to use it in the nearest future.

Most of the construction bosses use Teletrac Navman’s solutions for equipment tracking, but many also avail of their ELDS to monitor their fleets’ speed and drivers’ HOS.

Top safety benefits realized by using GPS tracking include speeding prevention (37%) and improved driver behavior (34%).

Moreover, 55 percent have seen their fuel costs falling drastically since implementing telematics, with 21 percent reporting cost cuts by 11 percent or more.

Statistical data also reveals that 21 percent of the building companies in the US are applying big data analytics to business operations.

Last but not least, 37 percent expect big data to be the technology that will most significantly impact business in the future, over autonomous vehicles and smart cities alike.

DIRECTOR Essential General Features

This plan includes a real-time tracking option, which tells fleet managers where their drivers are at all times.

It also includes simple data management, which makes it much easier to interpret all of the data that the system collected.

Teletrac Navman driver portal is a platform for drivers and managers to communicate without risking the safety of the driver.

Director Essential also creates vehicle and trip reports that track vehicle usage and driver timesheets.

DIRECTOR Professional – The Next Step

As its name suggests, DIRECTOR Professional is a step above Essential, and so it includes all of Essential’s features plus a few additional perks.

Teletrac Navman

The Navman director interface is designed for larger companies and allows them to create customization alerts that best suit the customer’s needs.

The list of features also includes Teletrac Navman director Dynamic Dashboard, which breaks down the data that Teletrac eld collects into an easy-to-understand format.

And this is especially useful if your drivers are not very tech-savvy.

DIRECTOR Professional is also essential for your fleet’s safety. And this is so because The program takes note and meticulously records all behavioral patterns of your drivers.

Thus, the management can easily find out who of the drivers abide by the rule and who needs to be reminded to do so at all times.

Teletrac Navman director Professional also creates an individual scorecard for each driver.

That’s not all; this Teletrac Navman pricing plan is also capable of generating maintenance and fuel efficiency reports.

And this plan can also record vehicle events, which is very useful for the mechanics that perform the regular truck maintenance.  The better a truck is services, the farther it will travel.

The Teletrac Navman director Professional plan can also map streets using Google Street View and reports even more detail than the Essential plan.

Every driver knows that an increase of such as CO2 emissions emission is a clear indicator of engine problems; however, this plan gives alert to ensure necessary action is taken.

Get Unlimited Functionality with DIRECTOR Enterprise

The highest level of Teletrac Navman director is DIRECTOR Enterprise.

Enterprise is Teletrac Navman’s most comprehensive system, as it includes all of the company’s available features and functionalities.

One of the most noteworthy ones is Advanced Replay, which allows users to watch traffic incidents that the driver is involved in from multiple angles.

These video recordings can be particularly useful if you need to file insurance claims.

No fleet manager wants the vehicles ever to be involved in a road accident, but the simple fact is that such accidents happen every day.

And this plan also offers user permission controls that allow company owners to restrict specific data to some viewers.

API Support is yet another outstanding feature of Enterprise, which allows companies to integrate the Teletrac Navman system with other business software they own, thus streamlining productivity in the workplace.

Last but not least, Enterprise also includes enhanced geo-search.

This feature helps managers to, however, better analyze their fleet’s driving patterns over the past 24 months and establish the safest, most efficient routes based on real data.

Why Choosing Teletract ELD?

The significant advantage of Teletrac eld that put the company on top of Teletrac Navman competitors is rooted in the way it monitors your drivers. The monitoring is implemented through a dashboard camera.

In addition to providing data to the company leadership, the dashboard camera can also help them to keep drivers on schedule.

It can also reduce costs by maximizing route effectiveness, and more easily put employees to work on the road daily.

The camera communicates with fleet managers through their DIRECTOR software. This software is installed on the fleet leader’s computer and allows them to access all of the available capabilities.

A Versatile and User-Friendly Solution

DIRECTOR, at any level, gives each fleet owner the ability to manage their vehicles and mobile workforce using one simple platform. Additionally, the software is easy to install and run.

The best thing is that Teletrac provides free installation services if companies would rather have a professional do the initial setup for them. And they also provide the Teletrac Navman installation manual.

The technology that Teletrac Navman uses is sleek and easy to use.

It boasts a one-minute refresh time, making sure that company management is updated every minute about the whereabouts and safety of their drivers.

The software is also adaptable to the size of the transportation company, making it even more useful for fleet managers.

Three Trucks Minimum

Please note that the system does require that the company have at least three trucks or vehicles in their fleet, so the smallest haulers and one-person businesses cannot partner with Teletrac Navman, for the time being at least.

The dashboard is also customizable for each business, allowing management to choose exactly what info they want to see on display and when they want to view it.

Makes Manager’s Life Easier!

Mainly, the Teletrac Navman is built to make the work of fleet management much more comfortable.

Likewise, it helps managers and fleet leaders clear up their schedules to address some more important aspects of the business.

DIRECTOR allows overseers to watch their fleet in real-time as they move about town or on the highway.

More importantly, it also enables users to monitor weather and traffic reports and plan the routes of their drivers accordingly.

Last but not least, the DIRECTOR interface creates a direct and safe line of communication between managers and drivers, making deliveries more quickly and more efficiently.

Get FREE ELD Quotes


Teletrac Navman’s Wide Portfolio of Solutions

Along with Elogs and GPS tracking services, the Teletrac Navman also offers a variety of workflow solutions.

The company’s extensive portfolio includes a job dispatch platform, which facilitates accessible communication between drivers and management.

One of the greatest things about the system is that it enables the company leadership to check for proof of delivery and driver compliance.

Fleet compliance is one of the biggest advantages of the Teletrac Navman system.

Because compliance goes hand-in-hand with safety, the Teletrac Navman helps to prevent traffic violations through its accountability system that the DIRECTOR dashboard automatically launches.

The company also provides its clients with a clear real-time view of their fleet.

And this is so, because each vehicle on display is color-coded, allowing management to easily differentiate between drivers and view specific data on each truck.

As already mentioned, the system uses the information that it collects to report driver safety issues automatically and creates customized scorecards for each driver.

Build Your Own Incentive System

With electric Navman, company leaders can even build their incentive system. Thus, they will most certainly motivate their drivers to travel more safely.

The Teletrac Navman’s ability to monitor drivers for safety and productivity makes businesses that use it far more competitive and profitable.

The eld solution also assists in making sure equipment is safe to use. It streamlines the inspection process and makes maintenance less stressful to manage.

Benefits of Teletrac Navman ELD

  • Help to decreased violations and HOS fines
  • Helps to avoid unexpected repairs costs
  • Driver and admin role-based training
  • Driver coaching and retention
  • Reduced insurance costs
  • Improved CSA scores
  • Fuel savings etc.

Safety First

The system allows drivers to report vehicle issues and maintenance requests in real-time. And this function further streamlines communication between drivers and fleet managers.

This feature also eliminates a ton of paperwork, allowing both drivers and managers to focus on the more important and profitable aspects of their jobs.

For example, if a driver has an accident on the road, the Teletrac Navman allows fleet managers to go back and watch the incident as it occurred, thus ensuring that responsibility is shouldered correctly.

Identifying the exact causes of a traffic accident that occurred between one of your company’s trucks and another vehicle or vehicle can save you a lot of money, mainly if your driver is not the one at fault.

Also, driver behavior is reported by the system regularly. Even if drivers aren’t involved in traffic incidents, their safe and unsafe driving habits can still be easily noticed and timely addressed.

Accurately, the system tracks harsh braking, cornering, and excessive acceleration. It allows DIRECTOR users to visualize trends, strengths, and weaknesses of all of their drivers.

Teletrac Navman Teaches Safe Driving

Another vast and undisputed advantage of Teletrac Navman is that it teaches company drivers to be more tolerant and patient on the road.

Along with the dashboard cameras, the system provides in-cab training guides for drivers.

These guides encourage their positive driving habits with some useful tips to drive more safely, slow down, or stop on time.

Having a system like Teletrac Navman means that all drivers in a fleet will be on the same page in terms of safety regulations.

Therefore, it ensures that every customer receives the same, safe transportation service.

A Truly Cost-Effective Solution

Teletrac Navman also has many direct numerical benefits to company management.

It has been proven to increase revenue and reduce costs, mainly due to its ability to route drivers more efficiently.

The choice of the most appropriate route is always based on the current traffic and weather conditions.

Also, the system can calculate fuel efficiency and give tips on how to further maximize it.

Teletrac Navman also can contact customers regarding their deliveries directly.

It provides real-time updates on whether they will be early, on time, or late. Thus drastically increases customer satisfaction.

Features  

Other features of this eld solution include;

  • Enhanced Geofencing
  • Simplified IFTA reporting
  • Easy-to-use in-cab tablet
  • Intuitive dispatch software
  • Manage unassigned drive time
  • Driver-friendly electronic DVIR
  • Robust third-party integrations
  • Runs on Garmin or Lenovo tablets
  • Vehicle analytics and maintenance alerts
  • Teletrac Navman login access for support personnel
  • Up-to-the-minute HOS data, HOS warnings, and alerts for fleet manager and drivers

Teletrac Navman’s Areas of Improvement

While Teletrac Navman can be highly beneficial to any company in the trucking or construction industries, however, some consumers have reported specific Teletrac Navman issues.

Tech Support Hard to Reach

The biggest concern that most users have is poor Teletrac Navman customer service.

The company seems to be overwhelmed with the number of customers they have, and so they are not able to adequately respond to customer service inquiries most of the time.

For instance, one reviewer reports that they have experienced multiple technical issues with their devices.

The more concerning fact is that when this user called Teletrac Navman customer service phone number for help, the tech support seemed to have misunderstood the problem and was thus unable to fix it, even after multiple calls.

What made this situation worse was that the system was under full warranty at the time, so the issue should have been fixed right away.

Surprisingly, even after multiple failed attempts to help the customer, the Teletrac Navman would not release them from responsibility under their service contract.

In terms of customer service, most users have reported that once they have entered into a three-year contract with the company the situation changes. Users report that they have not been able to get adequate help or response to none of their customer service inquiries.

Customers complain about going around with their account managers for months, trying to fix a technical issue.

Connectivity Issues

Teletrac Navman eldOther users have reported some technical issues as well. For instance, one user successfully used the program with five units for several months, and so decided to add two more units to his fleet.

However, these two new units would simply not connect to the system that was already in use. Even after multiple customer service calls, this issue is still not resolved.

Multiple Teletrac Navman customers have reported issues with adding new units to their system. So it seems that the best way to avoid this issue is to make sure you are ordering all of the units you would need at once.

GPS Tracking Problems

Other users have reported that the GPS Ryder tracking of their devices, which is essential to their functionality, has deteriorated over time.

And this is surprising for a provider, who boasts GPS tracking as one of their top services.

Sudden GPS failures cause drivers to have to take their eyes off the road at nearly every stoplight. This is to deal with the navigation flaws of the system and adjust their route.

They have also reported that their drivers are often warned against speeding by the software when they have not been speeding. This can be very frustrating for both drivers and fleet managers.

Watch Out for Automatic Renewal

Other customers have also complained about the company’s use of automatic renewal, which makes it much more difficult to cancel the service.

To avoid being locked in automatic contract renewal, we advise you to regularly check the most recent updates to the terms and conditions of your User Agreement with Teletrac Navman.

Customers also complain that once they are under contract with Teletrac Navman, the company becomes much less responsive.

Even after some customers have canceled the service, they have still billed until they actually blocked the company from their credit card.

Pros
  • Real-time location updates
  • Fantastic value for money
Cons
  • Poor customer service
  • Need advanced reporting features
  • HOS is a little complicated to learn and use

eld devices

 

Fill the questionnaire below to get a free consultation from our experts. We help you chose the best ELD for your personal needs.

 


Final Words On Teletrac Navman’s Devices

While Teletrac Navman users have reported a variety of customer service issues. These seem to be due to the growing pains of the Teletrac Navman merger.

There is indeed light at the end of the tunnel, as more and more issues are being resolved with growing speed every day as the company gains its footing.

Despite the flaws mentioned above, the system has received rave reviews from almost all expert review sites.

You can read tons of positive reviews about the company on expertmarket.com, financesonline.com, and even the Better Business Bureau!

These numerous positive expert opinions prove that the Teletrac Navman system has great potential to revolutionize the fleet management industry. Of course, once all of the customer service issues are ironed out.

Overall, Teletrac Navman is the preferred choice for companies looking for a fleet management solution. It allows them to track drivers for productivity and safety.

With it, they can also communicate with them effectively, and streamline the whole delivery and transportation process.

To sum up, Teletrac Navman provides an excellent software solution that will only continue to get better as time passes and their technology improves.

Spread the love

This Post Has One Comment

  1. Edwin Lacen

    Customer Support

    0.5

    Ease of Use

    0.5

    Installation

    0.5

    Suitable for fleets

    0.5

    Features & Technology

    0.5

    We had used Teletrac, From June off 2018 – May of 2019, of the many problems we reported to Teletrac, I have included 2 specific examples that in my opinion not only demonstrate the lackadaisical approach Teletrac takes in resolving our issues, but also provides the reasons, beyond a shadow of a doubt, that Teletrac did not resolve our issues within a timely fashion.
    Issue #1:

    Idling Report Issues: We use idle data to dictate what our drivers will be receiving as part of their fuel-saving bonus.

    Date Issue was Reported: 09/10/2018
    Date Issue Resolved: Never
    Total Time Unresolved: 8+ Months

    Issue #1 Recap: We had reached out several times starting on September 10, 2018, to get the idle time reports fixed as they were providing incorrect data. This was a feature that Teletrac had advertised when selling their product. This issue although multiple correspondences every month from the original date of reporting were had, was never fixed. There were large periods of time that had gone on where we were never reached out too. This was detrimental to or business because our drivers have a performance bonus that is given out monthly that is based on fuel mileage when we are unable to get a correct reading of fuel consumption we are paying out bonuses or not paying out bonuses on incorrect data. To put this into perspective, Samsara our current ELD provider had an issue with their idle time reports, not only did they reach out to us on a weekly basis as this was being fixed, but they also credited our company a month of service, and had the reporting issue fixed within 4 weeks. This problem again reported back in September of 2018, with follow up emails continuing through April of 2019.

    Issue #2:

    Units Malfunctioning: The purpose of purchasing an ELD is to be compliant with the hours of service regulations. Teletrac was supposed to allow our company to remain compliant by providing a system, a reliable system that could monitor our driver’s hours of service electronically and get us away from using paper logs.

    Date Issue was Reported: 09/19/2018
    Date Issue Resolved: Never
    Total Time Unresolved: 8+ Months

    Issue #2 Recap: This issue is quite devastating to any business, imagine purchasing a product and then not be able to use it for its intended use. The federal DOT has a ruling against using paper logs for more than 8 days. This means if you are caught using a paper log over an 8-day period your trucking company can receive a fine and be put out of service, ruining your safety score, resulting in your customers being unable to use you. This problem should have been resolved in 8 days. When Teletrac reached out to us regarding this problem, they reached out to us 6 days later on 09/25/2018, and this was their response, “We completed the firmware update for vehicle 240. This should help with the driver being kicked into On Duty while driving but the issue won’t be 100% resolved until our next firmware update. Our team is working very hard on that right now as it has the highest of priorities at the moment. Once we have a new build, we will make sure your units are updated ASAP. Thank you for your patience while we get this taken care of.” I was told that this “Should” fix, which it didn’t and that we would be made aware of when the next firm wear update was released. Fast forward a month later, 10/26/2018 my driver, using Truck 240, is stopped by the DOT and receives a failed DOT inspection. A failed inspection after purchasing a device that is supposed to prevent these failed inspections from taking place. It’s not that we were running illegally, its that the device we had purchased was not working so our driver needed to run on paper logs for over a month. Yes, we knew we shouldn’t be running a paper log, but what should we have done, told our driver who has been with us for over 15 years, that he couldn’t provide for his family, because our ELD provider sold us a faulty system? Or even better just not have him work with us and leave our company to go work for a competitor. If we don’t keep our team running we don’t have a business. You would think after this Teletrac would assist in bringing this issue to resolve, well unfortunately not. Not only was this a problem with multiple devices, but this was reported by Teletrac on 11/10/2018 as being resolved, however, again re-reported on 11/14/2018 as occurring again. This problem would not go away and had been reported as late as 04/25/2019. This issue was never resolved in its entirety, Teletrac is trying to get away with temp fixes that last a day or two and claiming that the issue was fixed. This is not okay and is pure deception. To put this into perspective, Samsara our current ELD provider has not to date had one service outage. We to date have not had one issue regarding their HOS platform. Go figure we purchase an ELD solution and have an ELD solution.

    Ultimately speaking, Teletrac provided our company terrible service. Their level of communication was bad, their products were faulty, and their support was abysmal. We need to be able to take care of our team; we need to partner with companies that are interested in growing, and unfortunately, Teletrac shows no ambition to do so. It amazes me that Teletrac can remain in business when companies like Samsara are around proving unmatched service. We were told that if after 90 days our issues could not be resolved we would be allowed out of our contract, Teletrac “fixes” the issue to their satisfaction and calls it completed to only have the same problem occur again in the very next few days. This is not fixing the problem. For this reason, we issue a strong warning against any company that wishes to do business with Teletrac.

Leave a Reply